Tan Tee How appointed Board Chair at Nomura Singapore

Nomura Singapore Limited today announced the appointment of Tan Tee How as Chairman of its board of directors.

Tan Tee How has also been named Chairman of Nomura Asia Pacific Holdings Co., Ltd.’s Audit Committee.

Mr. Tan replaces Michael Lim, who stepped down from both positions on June 30.

“After 17 years at Nomura, Michael expressed his intention to step down. We are very grateful to him for all the years he’s spent supervising and being a member of boards and committees of Nomura Group companies. We are going to miss his sharp intellect, institutional knowledge, and all the brilliant advice and counsel we received from him over the years. We wish him a happy retirement and all the best for the future,” said Kenji Teshima, Representative Director, Nomura Asia Pacific Holdings.

“Tee How has already started making significant contributions to the oversight of Nomura’s business in Asia and I want to congratulate him on the new responsibilities he’s taken on. His decades of experience in the Singapore civil service and the private sector will be crucial as he expands his supervisory roles.”

Mr. Tan was appointed a director on the board of Nomura Singapore and Nomura Asia Pacific Holdings as well as a member of the latter’s audit committee in April 2022. His other current board positions include being executive director of Singapore Exchange-listed Chip Eng Seng Corporation Ltd., chair of Singapore’s National Healthcare Group and its Casino Regulatory Authority, and an independent director of Hong Leong Finance.

Until 2018, he served for over three decades in Singapore’s civil service in roles including Principal Private Secretary to then-Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong, Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Home Affairs, and Commissioner and Chief Executive Officer of the Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore.

He holds a Master’s in Public Administration from Harvard University, attended the Wharton Business School Advanced Management Program in 2002, and was awarded a Fulbright Fellowship in 1989/90.

Related: Nomura reveals new-look executive team